Website Changes April 2022

What is happening in April?

We are making an update to the Bloomsbury Professional Online website. We are improving the Browse my Books menu following subscriber feedback – the menu will now be minimised, so you can see your books and other titles more easily. 

This update will also affect personalization accounts. These accounts are a feature of Bloomsbury Professional Online that allows individual users to set up a personal view of the site, and save their favourite content and searches. Currently, personalization account-holders need to log in to the site twice: once with their company’s main login details, and once more to their personal view. 

The change in April will mean that those users will only have to log in once to get access to their personal view. In order to do this, they will need to redeem a token the first time they visit the Bloomsbury Professional website after the change is made in April. A token is a seven-digit number which the personalization account-holder must redeem on our website – this a simple, one-off process. When the change happens in April, current personalization accounts will stop working unless the organisation, which holds the subscription, sends the personalization account-holder the token, and the personalization account-holder redeems that token.

If anyone in your business currently has a personalization account, we will contact you directly, and send you the tokens in April. Some of your users may not currently have personalization accounts – they will need to set up a personalization account before they redeem their token.

We will be moving all users onto personalization accounts, over the next few months. If we don’t contact you by April, we will be in touch in the following few months to confirm when you will be moving over to the new system, and to send you your tokens.


What are the benefits of the change?

Following user feedback, all users will be able to see and browse their books and other titles more quickly and easily, as the Browse my Books menu will now be minimised. 

If you are a user who does not currently have a personalization account, you will be required over the next few months to set one up. You will then be able to save your favourite content and searches, so you can quickly access the content most important to you. 

If you already have a personalization account, your login experience will be improved. Currently, you need to log in to the site twice: once with your company’s main login details, and once more to your personal view. The change in April will mean that once you have redeemed your token, you will only need to log in once, using your personalization account login details.

If you are the account-holder in an organisation then moving all your users onto personalization accounts will improve the security of your account. If a user in your business leaves, let us know and we can remove that token from your account and send you a new one, which you can pass to their successor.


What do I need to do in April?

  • If you are the key account-holder in your organisation, you need to send the users in your business their tokens to redeem. If anyone in your business currently has a personalization account, we will send you those tokens in April. If no one in your business currently has a personalization account, we will be in touch in the next few months to explain the process and send you your tokens.
  • If you are a user who currently has a personalization account, you will need to redeem a token, which will be sent to you by the account-holder in your business. This is a simple, one-off process – please follow these instructions.
  • If you are a user who does not have a personalization account and you have been sent a token by your account-holder, you will need to set up a personalization account, and then redeem the token. Account set-up and redemption are simple, one-off processes – please follow these instructions.

 

Does this affect my company if we use IP recognition to access Bloomsbury Professional Online?

If your users only use Bloomsbury Professional Online within your IP range, they will not need personalization accounts to continue to access the content. 

However, some of your users may already have personalization accounts, in which case they will need a token to continue to use them. We will let you know if any of your users have personalization accounts, and we will send you tokens to pass on to them to redeem.

If any of your users use Bloomsbury Professional Online outside your IP range, they will need to set up personalization accounts to continue to access the content. We can send you tokens to pass on to your users to redeem.

 

Does this affect my company if we access Bloomsbury Professional Online through the ICAEW?

No, this change will not affect the way you log in to Bloomsbury Professional Online, or the content you can access.


Who can I contact with other questions?

Please email us at professionalsales@bloomsbury.com